A blog about the Greatness of God
Just another WordPress.com weblog

The life of a missionary…

This is not going to be like the usual post.  I am going to post something a little bit different. 

When it comes to being a missionary.  When it comes to the life of a missionary people think that is somewhat glamorous or that there is some special place that Jesus rewards you.  I have really come to understand what that term really means.  When it comes to whether Jesus will give some special reward I don’t think that is valid.  I think that God has called us all to serve where he has directed.  Some people are called to a much more local stage and some a little bit further away.  I don’t think that there is any difference in how Jesus sees those who serve him.  If you are faithful to God’s call there is no greater reward in life.  It says in Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans that I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you.  Plans for a hope and a future.”  This does not say that you will always understand God’s plans but that they are good.  I think that when it comes to serving Jesus it requires a little sacrifice.  Some of these sacrifices are very easy.  Some are much more difficult.  If God asks you to quit swearing that is a small sacrifice.  God is asking you to sacrifice your free speech to use only speech that is uplifting.  Sometimes God will ask you to sacrifice your family and friends and that is a little bit more difficult.   This last week has been a very hard week for me.  I have been emotionally, spiritually, and physically drained.  I would say that this is one of the first weeks that I have really felt home sick.  In the last week, My uncle died and a friend of mine got married.  This was really difficult for me to be here and not celebrating with my friends and mourning with my family.  I know that these are sacrifices that I have to make.  I knew before I left that I would have to make these sacrifices.  I also knew that I was called here by Jesus himself so there was no question about where I am supposed to be.  The best thing about commitment is as long as you make it while you are thinking clearly and straight it makes it very easy to stand by when there is pressure.  I can easily think I am here because this is where I am supposed to be.  This is where God wants me to be.  If I was forced to make these decisions now it would be very difficult. 

    I spent this last week working in Mathari with my good friend Pastor Charles.  He had a VBS at his church.  There were almost 450 kids who showed up.  It was intense.  This was a really rewarding experience.  The whole time I was there God really renewed my desire to be in the slums.  There is something really beautiful about working with those who are oppressed or over burdened.  If at the end of the day 1 person saw Jesus because of me my entire time here has been worth it.  The sacrifices that I have made and will continue to make are worth it.  On my right arm I have tattooed Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ it is no longer I who live but Christ who lives in me.  The life I now live in the flesh I live through the faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself for me.”  Christ was willing to sacrifice his very life for me.  I should be willing to sacrifice some modern comforts (Hot showers) and some personal desires.  I can rejoice with my friends from here.  I can mourn with my family from here.  I can celebrate the good plans that God has for me.  I can take hope in the future that God has designed for me. 

    This week I have seen and felt every emotion.  I have gone from grief to celebration to heart break and back again.  All of this should put me in a difficult place.  Yet I am surrounded by the Peace of Jesus and I have survived.  I look forward to what it is that God has for me.  I also pray that when God asks anything of me that I lay it down it willingly.  I trust that he knows much better than I what I truly need.  I also pray that anyone who reads this prays that comfort find my family.  I also pray that blessings are abundant on my friends.  I read a great quote this week “God will never demand anything that he has not already given you”.  This week God is asking for strength, faith, and perseverance.  I am blessed that God has already blessed me with what I need.  I have just reread my post and I want to make one more addition.  The term sacrifice seems so harsh and strong.  So let me use a different word.  I want to use the term gift.  So I pray that everything I have, and everything that I am be a gift to Jesus.  Where he uses it as he chooses.  May God Bless you all as God has blessed me.

9 Responses to “The life of a missionary…”

  1. There is a lot of wisdom in this post, and I think you are right on Kevin. I think a lot of people (Americans especially) feel semi-guilty that perhaps they aren’t doing enough – that they need to leave everything and go across the world. Don’t get me wrong either – cause I have a huge amount of respect for the people that do do that, but I think that Christ has called us to reach whoever we can. There are plenty of folks at my work who know nothing about Jesus beyond the sort of simple stereotypes. Perhaps that is why I am there and not someplace else.

    I think the important thing to do is to recognize who you can reach where you are and always be mindful of God’s calling. That’s what makes a good missionary.

    • Yes, indeed. We are called to all and every. Our missionary field differs from each other but the bottom line is: what are we laboring for? what are we hoping to achieve for?
      We are all given the opportunity to be Jesus’ missionary in the field where we are. Like you said, your co-workers need to hear and understand the good news so they will have the opportunity to decide and also enjoy God’s gift through His Son’s death and resurrection. go for it and enjoy sharing God’s love and His greatness in your life.

    • It is amazing and comforting to know that God chooses and uses weak, ordinary men and women to accomplish his purposes for his kingdom. It’s not about great men and women of God but a Great God!

    • you have a great point always be mindful that God can use you where you are now. thank you so much for putting that i needed to hear it. have a good day every one!!!!!

  2. Good word,

    The life of a missionary is pretty well put in this post. I commend your honesty and I pray that your family would find comfort. Godspeed.

  3. What you said, “I don’t think that there is any difference in how Jesus sees those who serve him. If you are faithful to God’s call there is no greater reward in life. “, are two powerful sentences. Thank you for those inspiring words.

  4. Hi Kevin, This is truly inspiring as I asked the lord today to validate what I do for him as I have been emotionally, physically, and spiritually drained. I now realize that I am a missionary in a familiar setting and so it will be difficult to receive affirmation fron those around me. Sometimes, I just want to be sure I am doing what God requires and that he appreciates my efforts. I would love to hear it from those who value n know me and this is usually my struggle.

  5. thank you all for these posts… I have just recieved my calling to serve the father and son. I study scripture alot and I’m getting more “well versed” before going far on missionary trips. But these posts remind me of my purpose… and how God puts me excactly where i need to be at all times. And how even though I dont feel completely ready to go over seas, I have alot of work I can get done right here in America. Thank you all brothers and sisters and may God bless!

  6. when i grow up it is my dream to be a missionary, but when i tell peolpe that they always tell me ”really thats what you want to do with your life”. this just really bugs me because i go to a baptist church and they always tell you go out and share but they never try and help you with that goal. But i feel God is calling me to share so i’m going for it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

