A blog about the Greatness of God
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Every now and again God’s word proves to be amazinly true…

Greetings Friends,

     The past month has been really amazing.  In my last post I talked a lot about what God has been doing for the last year.  So I will assume that everyone is caught up on my life and I would love to share what has been going on the last couple of weeks.  I don’t have any witty stories or jokes today…  So if anyone has any suggestions I’m open to modifying this with a good joke…  If not just think of the funniest joke you have heard and imagine that I just said that. 

     So it is no secret that I have the heart of a nomad.  In my life time I have moved over 50 times maybe even 60.  I have lived in 3 countries, 5 different states, and untold number of addresses.  My address changes so often that I have to check my credit cards to see what address they have on file because I have no idea.  The longest I have lived at one address since I was 16 is 3 years.  Since I turned 16 I have been homeless but I always had a place to stay.  I never slept on the street but there were a lot of times where I had considered it.  There are numerous theories on why I am so mobile.  My favorite is that I am in the witness protection program or I am running from the law.  I’m obviously not in the witness protection program because I would have just blown my cover.  As to me running from the law.. Hmmm… Look over there shiny…  Another theory is that I am searching for something.  I would like to say that I am not searching for anything.  I am not running from place to place because I think the grass will be greener on the other side of the fence.  To be honest I think for long time I may have been searching for a place that I can call home.  A place that is mine and where I am welcome.  I have had a very strong paradigm shift in the past few years.  That this feeling that drives me inside to feel unsettled is actually from God.  I think that God has been trying to teach me that this Earth is not my home.  That this is a resting point but not the place that I will really feel rest.  I was having a conversation with a good friend of mine the other night.  We talked a lot about this very issue.  We came upon a very profound truth.  That while we both are nomadic and we recognize that this is not our home.  We strive to make this place home.  If all of our attention is focused on after this life why do we spend so much time focused on the current location.  The passage where Jesus talks about not being able to serve 2 masters came to mind.  So I ask myself and everyone else what master are we serving?  Are we serving the local master or the Heavenly master? 

    So I feel like that is really where I am spiritually and emotionally.  The past 4 weeks I have been either out of the country or I have been staying at a friend of mine’s house.  I decided to take a month off from work and just rest and relax.  This is very hard for a workaholic like myself.  I have had a job since I was 9 years old.  I belive in the process of work and I enjoy it.  I take great joy and pleasure from working 60 hours a week just because.   I have never really embraced the art of rest.  I used to keep myself at a pace that would only allow me to sleep 4-5 hours a day.  I thought that this was perfect and anything more than that was unneccessary and superfluous. I have spent the last 2 weeks doing almost nothing. I get up I hang out all day till my friend comes home after work. I have been spending time with Jesus everyday. My soul is becoming refreshed. I’m not nearly as bitter or jaded as I was. Yeah I would love to have a job where I could go to everyday and work myself to death. But this is so much better. I don’t think that I can do this forever and I think that the month will be about the right amount of time. I’m 2 weeks in and I’m starting to get a little stir crazy. In Genesis God talks about how he created the Sabbath. In all of Hebrew law it talks about the Sabbath and even the year of jubilee. Jesus himself says that man was not made for the sabbath but the sabbath was made for man. I can now see beneficial it truly is. Before I never embraced the goodness that is inherent in rest. God really knew what he was doing when he created us. He also was really on point with his suggestions. It always surprises me that when I actually start practicing what Jesus said life is just better. So who knew that rest was good? Apparently the Jesus. My soul is refreshed and I feel closer to God.

Well friends allow me to sign off. I will post again in a few weeks right before I get ready to head to Egypt. I ask that you pray for me and my team as we continue to prepare. I urge everyone to really search and find their home and place in Jesus. I also recommend some good old-fashioned rest. It is not only good for the body it is good for the soul. Be blessed…

One Response to “Every now and again God’s word proves to be amazinly true…”

  1. “The passage where Jesus talks about not being able to serve 2 masters came to mind. So I ask myself and everyone else what master are we serving? Are we serving the local master or the Heavenly master?”

    Wow Kevin! This really spoke to me. I really don’t feel like I have a home right now. My mom is in New York, my dad in Boise, but I don’t feel like it’s my home. I want to be where Jesus wants me to be, and right now it feels like He wants me to go to Portland, but who knows… don’t boast about tomorrow (James). I also have one job, but it’s only on Wednesday and Sundays and people are looking at me like I’m crazy because I’m mostly just resting for the summer. This feels SUPER weird for me because I’m always working, but at the same time, Jesus has been healing me, and speaking to me during this rest.

    Jesus bless you, bro! I’ll be praying for you in Egypt.

    Carla :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

